Important Recruiting Dates

Below you will find recruiting and academic dates for 2018 — 2019 at Georgetown University. Please keep these dates in mind as you plan for your recruiting activities.

If your firm is recruiting for summer 2020 interns in the spring of 2019, please scroll to the bottom of the page for relevant policies and dates.**

Questions? Feel free to contact Rebecca Cassidy at rebecca.cassidy@georgetown.edu.

Fall 2018

Classes Begin Wednesday, August 29, 2018
First day for company presentations Wednesday, August 29
Office closed - Labor Day Monday, September 3
Boutique & Middle Market Finance Fair Friday, September 7
First day for on-campus interviews (OCI) Monday, September 10
Health, Science, Analytics and Tech Career Fair Thursday, September 13
Annual Fall Career Fair Friday, September 14
No second round interviews

Monday, September 24 - Friday, September 28

Columbus Day - Office Closed Monday, October 8
Parents Weekend on campus Friday, October 19 – Sunday, October 21
Thanksgiving – Office Closed November 22 and November 23
Last Day for OCI and company presentations Friday, November 29
Classes End Monday, December 10
Exams Tuesday, December 13 – Wednesday, December 21, 2018

Spring 2019

Classes Begin Wednesday, January 9, 2019
First day for company presentations Wednesday, January 9
Martin Luther King Day – Office Closed Monday, January 21
First day of on-campus interviews (OCI) Tuesday, January 22
No second-round interviews

Monday, January 28 - Friday, February 1

Employer educational workshops Monday, February 4 – Friday, March 22
Government & Non-Profit Expo Friday, February 8
President’s Day – Office Closed Monday, February 18
Spring Break Saturday, March 2 – Sunday, March 10
Easter Break – Office Closed Thursday, April 18 – Monday, April 22
Last day for OCI and company presentations Friday, April 26
Classes End Tuesday, April 30
Exams Friday, May 3 – Saturday, May 11

 Recruiting for Summer 2020

**For years, financial services has been the most sought after post-graduate destination among Georgetown undergraduates, with 22 percent entering the field. Most of them secure their positions through summer internships after their junior years, however, the recruiting timelines and practices for those internships have changed considerably in recent years. 

As an educational institution and a career services office, we prioritize equitable and consistent access to opportunities, student preparedness and professional conduct. We strive to ensure that all of our students, regardless of age, major, or school have:

  • Awareness & Access. As second-semester sophomores, students are exploring majors, internships, research options, study abroad programs and service opportunities for the summer of 2019. As such, sophomores are not typically honed in on or ready to consider plans for the summer of 2020. Those students who are ready are usually those who are “in the know” due to family connections or student club memberships. As a career center, we often have a challenge reaching out to sophomores who are already being asked to make these many - and often more timely - big decisions.
  • Industry-based education. Bulge bracket, middle market, boutique firms? What is investment banking, sales and trading, wealth management, corporate banking? What type of experience within financial services may be a good fit based on one’s skills, interests and experiences?  What is ‘meaningful work’? 
  • Programming on professionalism. This encompasses everything from knowing and telling their personal “stories” on resumes and in interviews to networking with alumni and corporate representatives to accepting, and not reneging, on job offers.

We believe these concerns are best mitigated by allowing us the time to build awareness through multiple communication channels and to partner with you to prepare students.

Where does this leave us? We ask that you participate in our Financial Services Networking Night kick-off event on January 17, 2019, engage with students throughout spring 2018, and consider conducting summer 2020 interviewing after the current academic year ends in the summer or fall of 2019. We feel this schedule is in your best interests as well as the best interests of the students. 

We highly value our employer partnerships, respect business needs and will accommodate your recruiting preferences. Please see the calendar below, review our policies and, as always, reach out at any time. 

November 12 – 21 Partners submit date requests for information sessions and OCI
November 22 – 23 Thanksgiving holiday – no school
November 26 – December 21 All firms submit date requests for information sessions and OCI
December 24 – January 1 Georgetown holiday – no school
January 9 Classes resume
January 10 Women on Wall St. panel
January 15 Wall St. 101 workshop
January 17 Summer 2020 recruiting kickoff networking night
January 21 Martin Luther King Day – no school
January 22 First day of information sessions
February 28 Last day of information sessions
March 3 – 8 Spring Break – no school
March 11 first day for on–campus interviews/superdays at firm locations
April 17 Last day for on–campus interviews/all recruiting activity to end
April 18 – 22 Easter break – no school
April 29 Last day of classes
May 1 – May 12 Study days + final exams – no recruiting Activity
May 13 – beyond Recruiting activities continue